Sixteen members nominated for 2016 Women of Influence awards

The category finalists for the 2016 Women of Influence awards have been announced—and we’re very proud to see so many of our inspiring and accomplished Global Women members on the list.

Presented by Fairfax Media and Westpac, the New Zealand Women of Influence programme recognises and celebrates women from all walks of life who—as well as leading the way in their respective fields—are making an impact beyond their formal roles at local, regional and national levels.

The Awards programme highlights the important contribution women make in creating a bold and diverse future for New Zealand—a kaupapa that Global Women is committed to through both our membership and leadership development programmes.

Congratulations to all the Global Women members who have been named as finalists!

Nominated Global Women members

Board and Management – sponsored by DLA PIPER

  • Michelle Boag – Director of Boag Allen SVG
  • Jolie Hodson – CEO of Spark New Zealand
  • Parekawhia McLean – Chief Executive of Waikato-Taunui Raupata Lands Trust
  • Helen Robinson – Co–Founder/Executive Director of Organic Initiative
  • Sue Tindal – Group CFO of Auckland Council

Business Enterprise – sponsored by MYOB

  • Tracey Bridges – Managing Director of Senate SHJ
  • Carolyn Oakley-Brown – CEO of Oakley Brown Pharmacy Group

Community / Not for Profit

  • Annah Stretton – Governing Director of Stretton Clothing Company Limited

Diversity – sponsored by Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand

  • Sandy Burgham – Director of Play – Contemporary Leadership Colab
  • Sue Sheldon – Chair / Director of New Zealand Global Women, Real Journeys Ltd

Global – sponsored by Massey University

  • Kate Corich – Founder / Managing Director of Sysdoc
  • Rachel Petero – Founder of RP Enterprise Group Ltd
  • Lyn Provost – Controller and Auditor General of New Zealand of Office of the Auditor General

Innovation – sponsored by Mastercard

  • Michelle Dickinson – Director of Nanogirl Labs Ltd

Public Policy

  • Naomi Ferguson – Commissioner of Inland Revenue


  • Mavis Mullins – Chairman of Rangitane Tu Mai Ra

The Awards dinner

The Women of Influence Awards gala dinner will be held on 12 October at Auckland’s SKY City Convention Centre—and Global Women will be there to celebrate. See you there!

Pictured: Tracey Bridges, Sue Sheldon, Parekawhia McLean, Naomi Ferguson, Rachel Petero, Michelle Boag, Sandy Burgham, Michelle Dickinson, Jolie Hodson, Mavis Mullins, Lyn Provost, Annah Stretton